Friday, 03 Dec 2021 About Us Privacy policy TERMS AND CONDITIONS Contact Us

Sports Bulletin

Sports News20 Sep 2021
Dr Erdener re-elected for fifth term as World Archery president


ISLAMABAD ( September 20, 2021):-Prof Dr Ugur Erdener has been unanimously re-elected as president of World Archery for a fifth and final term to serve until in 2025, after the next Olympic Games in Paris. He has served in the role since 2005.

“Thank you for your great support and trust in me, once again and our executive board, and our great team,” said Prof Dr Erdener to delegates at the 54th congress in Yankton, USA.

“Of course, I have a mission, it’s important for me to look towards our bright future. We will continue to discuss new ideas at our congresses and progress, together. Thank you, again, for your support.”

A current member and former vice president of the International Olympic Committee, Prof Dr Erdener is also president of the Turkish Olympic Committee. Under his leadership, World Archery has modernised and evolved dramatically.

The Hyundai Archery World Cup, celebrating its 15th season in 2021, was launched in 2006, the federation was rebranded from FITA in 2009 and archery has become a core and important sport on the Olympic programme. Elections took place for positions on the executive board.

Colombia’s Maria Emma Gaviria was re-elected and Thomas Han of Korea was elected as vice presidents. Sanguan Kosavinta candidacy was withdrawn. Greg Easton of the USA and Vladimir Esheev of Russia were re-elected as members, with Sweden’s Carina Olsson also joining having received more votes than incumbent Aladin Gabr of Egypt.

Elections for positions across World Archery’s permanent and ad hoc committees were also held.

Committee elections

The following candidates were elected to serve four-year terms by congress.

Constitution and rules committee

Choi Kyunghwan, Korea

Alexandre Vecchio Passerini, Brazil

Constance Terrier, France

Field and 3D committee

Barry Brophy, Ireland

Tyler Moore, Canada

Judge committee

Graham Potts, Great Britain

Indranil Datta, India

Coach committee

Hana Majarova, Czech Republic

Junior Bolanos, Chile (third round)

Technical committee

Douglas Denton, USA

Jon Shales, Great Britain

Park Sunghyun, Korea

Target committee

Park Kyungmo, Korea

Bob Pian, USA

Maya Shalaby, Slovenia

Medical and sports science committee

Anne Smith, Canada

Kim Youngsook, Korea

Martin Bauer, Germany (third round)

Para archery committee

Dominique Ohlmann, France

Zahra Nemati, Iran

Nancy Littke, Canada

The following candidates were proposed by the executive board and approved by congress.


Finance and audit board

Rolf Lind, Denmark

Hilda Gibson, Great Britain

David Tan, Singapore

Board of justice and ethics

Marty Swanson, USA (2025)

Lee Dongmin, Korea (2025)

Guillermina Garcia Avila, Mexico (2025)

Kevin D’Amour, US Virgin Islands (2023)

Jaan Lott, Estonia (2023)

Relevant News