Sunday, 24 Oct 2021 About Us Privacy policy TERMS AND CONDITIONS Contact Us

Sports Bulletin

Sports News29 Jan 2021
Shakir Abbasi wins RISJA president election


ISLAMABAD (January 29, 2021):-The young journalist, Shakir Abbasi has won the Rawalpindi Islamabad Sports Journalists Association (RISJA) president seat for next one year after overcoming his opponent Nasir Aslam Raja 27-16 in the elections that held at Pakistan Sports Complex on Friday.

Also, Wafa Abbas and Noman Maqsood were elected vice president seats by getting 36 and 28 votes. It is pertinent to mention here that Shah Khalid Secretary, Rizwan Ahmed Dhillon, Finance Secretary and Arsalan Shirazi, Senior Vice President, have already been elected unopposed.

Shakir Abbasi and Nasir Aslam Raja were contesting for the seat of President while Wafa Abbas, Noman Maqsood and Aqeel Anjum were contesting for the seats of two vice presidents. The Chairman of Election Committee, Zahid Farooq Malik announced the results after the completion of polling.

According to the Election Committee, out of the total 57 members of association of twin cities Rawalpindi and Islamabad, 43 members exercised their right of vote in democratically manners. Shakir Abbasi got 27 votes and his opponent Nasir Aslam Raja got 16 votes for the honour of presidentship.

Similarly, Wafa Abbas got 36 votes, Noman Maqsood 28 and Aqeel Anjum got 13 votes. Similarly, Ahsan Abbas, Zeeshan Qayyum, Zain Malik, Maria Rajput and Arafa Feroz have also been elected unopposed for the governing body.

Relevant News