Saturday, 22 Jun 2024 About Us Privacy policy TERMS AND CONDITIONS Contact Us
CRICKET - Int News 24 May, 2024

15-member Pakistan squad announced for T20 World Cup 2024
15-member Pakistan squad announced for T20 World Cup 2024

Babar Azam to lead Green Shirts, Pakistan to take on India on June 9 in New York

Abdul Jabbar Faisal

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Cricket Board today unveiled its 15-player squad for next month’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, which will be held in the United States of America (USA) and West Indies from June 1 to 29, 2024. Batter Babar Azam will lead the Green Shirts in the prestigious cricket fixture of the world.

According to the media department of Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), the side was confirmed on Friday afternoon following a two-hour selection committee meeting in Birmingham, which was attended by Abdul Razzaq, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Bilal Afzal, Gary Kirsten, Mohammad Yousuf and Wahab Riaz. Razzaq, Asad and Bilal joined the deliberations through videoconference.

Of the 15 players, Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Saim Ayub and Usman Khan have been picked for their maiden T20 World Cup, while Mohammad Amir and Imad Wasim last appeared in the 2016 and 2021 tournaments, respectively. The other eight players participated in the 2022 event in Australia.

Pakistan has one of the most impressive records in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup since its inception in 2007 in South Africa. It won the 2009 event under Younis Khan and twice reached the finals under Shoaib Malik (2007) and Babar Azam (2022). In 2010, 2012, and 2021, it reached the last-four stage.

Names of players: Babar Azam (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan

Player support personnel: Wahab Riaz (senior team manager), Mansoor Rana (team manager), Gary Kirsten (head coach), Azhar Mahmood (assistant coach), Simon Helmot (fielding coach), David Reid (mental performance coach), Aftab Khan (high performance coach), Cliffe Deacon (physiotherapist), Irtaza Komail (chief security officer), Mohammad Imran (masseur), Mohammad Khurram Sarwar (team doctor), Talha Ijaz (analyst), Raza Kitchlew (media and digital manager) and Drikus Saaiman (strength and conditioning coach).

Pakistan’s schedule of matches:

6 June – vs USA, Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium, Dallas

9 June – vs India, Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

11 June – vs Canada, Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York

16 June – vs Ireland, Central Broward Park & Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida