Sunday, 24 Oct 2021 About Us Privacy policy TERMS AND CONDITIONS Contact Us

Sports Bulletin

Sports News13 Feb 2020
PCTSG nominates Shafqat Mehmood its president

By Abdul Jabbar Faisal

ISLAMABAD (February 13, 2020):-Pakistan Council for Traditional Sports and Games (PCTSG) in its General Body meeting held at Islamabad Club decided to revive the Traditional Sports and Games in Pakistan. Khalil Ahmed Khan, the President of International Council for Traditional Sports and Games, chaired this meeting, which was attended by Senator Barrister Mohammad Ali Saif. Also, all stakeholders from federal, provincial governments, traditional sports associations and organizations also attending this meeting.

The chair briefed about UNESCO’s initiative for revival of traditional sports and games its importance for Pakistan. He expressed concern over our fading trend of traditional sports in the country and stressed the need to build synergies among the stakeholders to harmonize diversity of cultures of the country, empowering youth and women through revival of TSG. He said that creating awareness, holding national and international events, documentations and research would be the priority of the Council.

Senator Mohammad Ali Saif said that engagement of youth in rural and urban diversity of traditional sports in different provinces and regions of the country could lead to national cohesion.  He assured his support for revival of TSG in the country for national cohesion and projecting soft image of the country.

The representatives from Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Pakistan National Commission for UNESCO, KPK Sports Board, Islamabad Capital Territory and other stakeholders appreciated the efforts of UNESCO for revival of TSG at international national. They also shared their views about revival of TSG and showed their willingness to support this very important neglected aspect of the society. The Council also approved the holding of International Traditional and Sports Festival at Gawadar. Also, stressed the need to create awareness about TSG, its documentation and holding of events.

The Statutes of the PCTSG was approved unanimously by the house. The Executive Board of the following members has been elected. Shafiqat Mehmood, Federal Minister for Education and Training has been nominated to hold the office of President. Senator Barrister Mohammad Ali Saif, Senior Vice President, Azam Efandi Brig. ( R ), Hussain Ahmed Madni, Abdul Ghaffar Khan, Malik Mehrban Ali, Syed Khalid Hussain, Mohammad Shahid Islam, Sajida Nasreen, Mian Salman Islam, Mohammad Tariq Abbasi, Syed Ghayur Hussain are elected Vice Presidents. Barrister Iftikhar Raza Khan, Barrister Iftikhar Raza Khan, Secretary General, Abu Zafar Sadiq, Associate Secretary, Haider Ali Daud, Press Secretary, Kazim Ali Chagezi, Finance Secretary, Mohammad Raza Khan Advocate, Mohammad Ali Bukhari, Advocate, Nisar Ahmed Shahwani, Col Rtd. Rizwan Ahmed, Dr. Nauman Saeed, Tariq Ali, Furqan Ahmed Khan, Umar Habib, Mohammad Umar, Syed Zeeshan Ali Naqvi, Shakil Yousuf, Khalil Jabran, Wasim Abbas have been elected as Executive Members.

Relevant News